iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Plastic Engine Cases?

Started by kellysguy, May 01, 2015, 08:10:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kellysguy

Please bare with me as I'm new to new saws. Did I read correctly that some manufactures are making engine cases out of plastic, is that right? I've seen where some use magnesium which I figured was for weight reduction from using aluminum. As a former VW guy I'm really not a fan of magnesium but I'm CERTAINLY not a fan of engine cases made from composite materials and that includes carbon fiber!

Help me out here, who makes saws engine cases out of actual metal and what models are they?

I can't bring myself to buy a plastic saw, not now, not ever. I would die if I bought a plastic saw. I hope my older Poulan Pro isn't as I'm gonna puke if so.

beenthere

Time that you were dragged into the new world.  ;D

Do wish you well with your search.

I just purchased a Stihl MS362 and so far am very pleased with it. Starts easy, runs great, and handles like my beloved MS361. I like the off switch that flips back into "run" position so pick up the saw, bull the starter cord and going. No lost motion switching to "run". Also like the captured bar nuts that can't roll off and be lost in the duff when changing the bar. Also a great air filter arrangement. The cover pops off and exposes the cyl. head for easy cleaning with a short blast of air.
I think I'm going to like this one real well. Good power and light weight.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

sablatnic

It is easy, just go for the professional saws, they have metal crankcases. Tanks, starter housings, covers might still be plastic though.

dougand3

WATCH YOUR FEET! HE'S GONNA HURL!