iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

question about log sizing

Started by paddler, January 19, 2016, 02:17:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paddler

I am in the process of cutting wood and designing a cabin for my family. it will be a horizontal, stacked log home. I am squaring logs on all four sides and using white spruce. Originally I was planning on using 8x8 for the horizontal logs. but, I have had several people tell me that was overkill. two of them currently live in log homes with 6" thick walls, and one said he grew up in a home with 4" thick log walls. I have been in their cabins many times and I know they don't struggle to stay warm.  So, my question is, how much practical insulation value do I lose out on by using a 6x6 instead of an 8x8? the cabin will be approx. 20'X28'

thanks for any input. this site has already been a big help to me.

Brian_Weekley

I'm no expert on log cabins.  However, my understanding is that softwoods like spruce only have an R-value ≤1.4 per inch (8 inch thick log only R11)?  That's below the recommended energy code requirements in your part of the country.  If it were my primary house that I was heating in MN, I'd probably want more insulation than that.  I guess it depends if you're planning to add additional insulation on the interior?  Personally, I would want to limit the amount of fuel I burned to heat my house whether it be wood, propane, oil, etc...
e aho laula

beenthere

Quotethey don't struggle to stay warm. 

If one adds enough heat to the inside of the home, then 2" thick walls would suffice. Depends on how much heat one wants to add. I suspect it is not a linear relationship to the solid wood wall thickness.
One could stay warm in a tent for that matter.

Another problem with 4" vs 6 or 8" may be the stability of the wood and warping as that wood dries more on the inside than the outside.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

davemartin88