iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

1990 LT40 New to me!

Started by chasec, January 16, 2020, 08:28:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chasec

Just starting out in the sawmill world. I purchased a used 1990 lt40 woodmizer that has 1800 hrs on it that has been sitting in the weather for the last 6 years. I have ordered some things that were in need of attention and repared them. The mill has a 24hp onan on it that i have running now but would love to upgrade. Any thoughts? I have done a bunch of research online and by far this forum is the best i have come across! A few things off the start that i would like to ask is Power Feed Chain tension? I replaced the drive chain with new chain but i am having a issue where it seems the motor jumps a little. Not sure if the chain is to tight or i have a motor issue or maybe something else . Again i am new to the sawmill life but really enjoying the wood i have cut! Any ideas or tips on that type/year sawmill would great! Thanks again!

thecfarm

Welcome to the forum. You will like sawing.
No help from me,but you will need a Logrite cantdog or peavey. They are a sponsor on the left, nice people!!
What's the plan for the lumber?
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

chasec

Thanks for the reply. Only plan for the lumber at this point is to cut pine for board and batten in my shop. I have a good friend that is a logger so i can get a fair amount of pine and all the cedars i want. The reason i purchased the mill is I built a live edge cedar bar at my house and thats all it took! I have cut pine, cedar, and one oak. The oak is where i figured out there is still some things that arent right. I have made some adjustments with the mill and hope to try it out again this weekend!

47sawdust