iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

american bandsaw mill

Started by Watrboyo1, September 03, 2020, 10:40:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Watrboyo1

Looking to purchase my first mill and going for the American Bandsaw 36" full hydraulic.  Seems to be a great built mill(im a novice and have never owned one) but looking at the specs, the material, it looks like an awesome mill.  Also the fact all 99% of parts can be picked up at local hardware store.  Talked to 2 people on the FacePage about the mill and they absolutely love it, one was previouse ezboardwalk owner and other woodmizer lt15 owner and both loved the American.  Anyone on here any experience. 
Live for the outdoors

Gere Flewelling

Pretty blue color.  Looks like an awful lot of pillow block bearings.  I have heard from several sources that pb bearings won't tolerate the excessive side load caused from tensioning a bandsaw blade.  Maybe using four together compensated for that.  I am sure they have done extensive testing.  I would certainly want to see one operate prior to purchase.  I hope it works out well for you. smiley_smug01 
Old 🚒 Fireman and Snow Cat Repairman (retired)
Matthew 6:3-4

welderskelter

Never heard of an American mill. But in support of pillow block bearings I would have to say they would be the best as they are usually quick to change and they are used with side pull on about all applications. I used them building my mill and am quite happy.  I used 2  PB bearings on my mill for each wheel and they are about 18 in. apart on 1 and a half in. shaft. Farm machinery of all kinds use them extensively. Also use lots of them in the oilfield. Hope you have as much fun as I have with mine. Go for it.

GF what other kind of bearing would you use or what kind is on your mill? I am not trying to be smrt here, I am just trying to help and also learn. Thanks

Gere Flewelling