iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cross Ties with logs off property you own

Started by soontobelogger, March 21, 2016, 10:55:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

soontobelogger

I am looking at purchasing property and would like to mill my own lumber. I do have an outlet for walnut, maple and cherry that I will use in my present business.

If I wanted to get more into the sawmilling side of things, are there any issues with cutting ties with logs from property that you own? I am still learning and trying to soak up all the information I can from this great site.

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, soontobelogger!

Where are you located?
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

soontobelogger

The properties I am looking at are located in Southwest to South Central Kentucky.

Ron Wenrich

Talk to your accountant about tax problems.  If you buy a property, you should get a timber inventory and appraisal.  You will be paying for you stumpage when you buy the land.  You should be able to use that stumpage value as a deduction from the value of the lumber, ties, etc that you sell and save you money on taxes. 
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

Seavee

Wood mizer lt50 47hp yanmar Diesel  Sthil MS311, Ms661 MS200T, 029 farm boss  and a New Holland T4  75hp.

Magicman

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, soontobelogger.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Banjo picker

Welcome to the forum.  And Ron just gave a valuable piece of information that a lot of people dont take advantage off.  Looks like the tie market might be tighten up a bit. Banjo