iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

setworks

Started by pzimmerman, March 17, 2019, 11:25:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pzimmerman

Newbie here with a question on setworks. I am thinking of getting the Timberking 1400 and was wondering if setworks is worth the money. Being that I vave never milled, how hard is it to be accurate without it ? Thanks Pat

ladylake

You can be real accurate without setworks, not near as fast without setworks. If you don't care about production go without setworks. .  Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

Darrel

My old mill does not have setworks and I am dead on accurate. And over time I have become pretty quick because I have learned how my mill's controls respond and as with anything, practice makes perfect. (Old saying)  If high production is a must, than go with setworks but if you have no need for speed then don't worry about setworks because you will get to where you are pretty DanG quick even with out setworks. 
1992 LT40HD

If I don't pick myself up by my own bootstraps, nobody else will.

Southside

One thing to consider is re-sale value should you decide to upgrade, sell out, etc.  Mills without setworks have a disadvantage in the used market. Would you order a vehicle today without A/C? Maybe you don't care about production but what if the guy with money in his pocket looking to buy a mill does? If someone were to ask me what options to get with a mill I would say setworks, debarker, and hydraulics, even if they think they don't need them now and never want them, you suddenly find that they were the best investment you made.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger