iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

oil in muffler

Started by stoneeaglefarm, January 25, 2013, 11:59:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stoneeaglefarm

Ok I went to work this morning, A better understanding of the blue smoke, Feeling better anout machine, It started up with a new fuel filter chnge, Its 0 today. I am doing a walk around on machine and noticed oil coming from were turbo meets muffler, Can not find anyone who has a idea agout this, Am going to change oil  and see what happenes, Its a 440c John Deere skidder with turbo, Been pulling wood with it all week and appeared to be fine till cold weather set in. Thought from others. Thanks. Peter.

Stephen Alford

Hey Peter, I am no mechanic, but  just wondering if your heat indicator works ?  My ol detroits do what we call cold stackin. When she is not running hot enough she will slobber at the base of the muffler. These are not turbos , however. The thermostat can be checked by putting it in some hot water. Have had to put a piece of cardboard in front of the rad to help her run a tad hotter. The cardboard should run the same as the tubes and probably no more than half the surface area. Bad idea if the indicator is not ticktyboo. If your pokin around the engine, should check the air filter as well. Had to change them several times this year because it was so hot and dry up till nov.  Anyway maybe this post will be just something to help pass the time until one of those wrenchin lads show up to help. Man ,I get weak in the knees just readin  their stuff.   :D
logon

WH_Conley

I have a Ford farm tractor that did that. It was the seals in the turbo.
Bill

Ed_K

Couple yrs ago I rented a 540d we saw a little oil same place and owner said "it's ok,run it"well around 10am it started smoking real bad,we didn't make it back to the landing,the turbo seals failed.It's around $1000. for a jd rebuilt turbo.