iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Too Old to change careers?

Started by Old Nate, March 13, 2020, 09:02:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Nate

Hi everyone. My name is Nathan, I've been contemplating a career in a forestry related field for some time now and recently found this forum. I am 37 years old, married with three boys (5, 3, and 1). I'm a veteran, served in the Air Force and already have a bachelor's degree in English Literature. I work for the government as an HVAC technician. I'm currently talking to Penn State about the Forest Ecosystem Management degree they offer. 

I was hoping some classes would be offered online but looks like if I want to pursue this degree I'll have to go full time the traditional way. I was going to inquire about switching my shift to nights, but I don't think I could do that and go to school and give my wife and boys the love and support they need and I want to give to them. Honestly, I don't know how I can afford it but I desperately want to make this change.  

If anyone has any insight, I'd appreciate the advice. I wish I had realized this and knew about the forestry field ten years ago, but it's pointless to ponder on that now. 

WV Sawmiller

Sounds like some tough decisions. I hope you find a satisfactory compromise or solution to your challenges. You say you are talking to Penn State. Be sure to lay out your situation as clearly as possible to them and hopefully they can develop some sort of customized schedule you can work with. Good luck. 
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

Old Nate

Thanks. If they can work out a special schedule for me I would greatly appreciate it... it's about a 2 hour drive one way. Honestly, I didn't think that would be an option. 

dgdrls

dougtrr2