iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newly obtained Stihl MS310 wont start, -How to diagnose the problem???

Started by Razorhunter, February 26, 2013, 12:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Razorhunter

My brother just gave me a Stihl MS310 that won't start. Saw appears to be in really good condition, and I'm fairly certain was well maintained, but it won't start and I need help from those more knowledgeable than me.  I'm very mechanically inclined, and I know these engines need fuel, spark and compression to run. However, I'm no expert, and could use tips on what steps to take to diagnose the problem. So far, I have been told to do the following:

-attempt to crank saw, then pull plug to make sure plugs tip is wet with fuel. I suppose this will confirm that carb us doing its job and pumping fuel to the cylinder?

-check plug itself obviously (afaik, plug should be light brownish in color?) Also check for spark by pulling rope while plug is touching metal object to check for spark.

-remove muffler/or muffler cover? at front of saw, and check to see if spark arresting screen is clean? Also look behind muffler at piston itself to see if its all scored up or damaged in any way? I'm a bit confused here, as I thought the piston had a ring around it, which is really the only part that touches the cylinder walls, so I'm unsure how the piston could/would ever be scored all up??? However, I was indeed told to check for a scored piston however. 

-locate and check.fuel line(s) for cracks/damage

Questions:

1. What other steps should I take to diagnose problem?

2. Manual is unclear: Does chain brake have to be engaged to start saw?