iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Woodworker asking Milling Advice / MS441C Alaskan Milling vs 394xp

Started by Pavilion_Wood, February 26, 2019, 02:17:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pavilion_Wood

Hey All,

Longtime lurker first time poster. I am wondering about people's experiences with the Stihl MS441c. I am a woodworker in the Okanagan valley in British Columbia Canada. We have a lot of orchards around here with beautiful hardwood, as well as urban trees like maple and walnut. I am wondering what your guys perspective is on my setup. I would need an alaskan mill with logs around 24" (this range is about as wide as I'd go slabbing per board in a book matched epoxy pour). Most logs I'd be dealing with are 12-20". Other logs 9" or less, I have a shop bandsaw that I've set up with an infeed and outfeed table and a milling jig for taking on. There is the possibility of cutting cookies around 30" diameter or more as well, but slabbing trees this diameter would be too difficult to move without a machine. I had planned on doing a stationary mill in a downtown shop but thieves are too rampant and I'm afraid of losing my stuff-- but not before I bought a 42" Oregon bar for Stihl. I'm looking at a nearly new Stihl 441C w/ 22" bar with heated wrap for $855 . I'm not interested in doing production milling, just if I meet a farmer who has a tree he needs felled, or arborists that saved me a 3' 28" diam burl that I have a saw that can mill it and load it in my truck. I have an old MS170 for limbing as well.

I am curious what potential problems there may be for using a 42" bar for milling on the 441C. The max bite says 32". If I go reaaaaallllyyyy slow with a 42" bar on logs that are around that 32" or so diameter, what problems would that cause? I'm assuming an auxiliary oiler would be required but what other considerations for using a bar longer than the saw head is rated?

Plan B