iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A friend has 1200 logs

Started by chuckzx12, October 22, 2013, 09:17:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chuckzx12

A friend just had 18 acres cleared and has huge piles of oak, pine, maple and cherry. I am new to sawmilling and unsure how to proceed. After buying a tractor and WM LT28 I am to broke to offer money but suggested I mill them and we split the money from lumber sales. He is leaning towards selling them all to a local mill. If he allows me to mill them, what should I mill them into? This seems like a much too good opportunity to let pass but I need advice on how to proceed. Any help will be appreciated. Thankyou-Chuck

thecfarm

chuckzx12,welcome to the forum.Probably be better off selling the logs to a mill. Some on here do sell lumber,but it can be a hard market. If you have 1X6 they want 1x8. If you have 12 footors they want 10's or 16's. Some will buy green lumber,but most want it dry and maybe planed too. There is alot to selling lumber. Yes,you might sell some,but maybe not all. Need a way to store the lumber,need a building.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

justallan1

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Chuck.
I think I'd get him to talking about the price of store bought lumber and how it wouldn't be costing him anything to just have some on hand and work a deal with him to saw on a percentage. Let him do what he wants with his share and you have yours. Even if you get him to let you do a part of what he has you're showing him that you can do it and making a name for yourself in the area.
Just my thoughts.

Allan

Red Clay Hound