iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawmill Questions

Started by wascator, September 15, 2012, 11:21:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wascator

Hi, I'm new to this Forum; I'm an engineer and love mechanical things; now I think I am hooked on sawmills. The sights! The sounds! The smells!
I am reading etc.. and have a buddy whos is going to fire his mill up as soon as there is a chill in the air, and he will let me help. I also have the perfect spot for a small circle saw...
Meanwhile, a question has come to mind: I have seen the drag chains and other ways to move sawdust from the saw. What would be wrong with a blower with the suction located under the saw, to pick up the dust and carry it away? Seems simple enough to me; of course I don't know what I am doing; in fact, I'm not even doing it yet.
Forgot to add: in the "old days" about 100 years ago my family were determined to go into the sawmill business in a big way. Unfortunately they always went bust before they got anything going. I grew up in a small town in north La which was founded as a sawmill town. The sawmills our town had over the years are all gone now.
Regards,
Wascator

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

Look forward with interest in hearing about the persuit of your hobby.

Some find that a blower doesn't deal well with the larger chuncks of wood that get into the sawdust. Yet some use blowers quite well. Maybe there are just trade-offs and ways to work around the problems. Helps to be an engineer....as long as that doesn't get in the way....  ;D ;D
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

fishpharmer

Wascator, welcome to FF!

Member, pineywooods, (and certainly others too) has a blower setup I had the pleasure to witness on his woodmizer bandmill.  That's the extent of my experience.  There's a good chance that someone here can help you out.  Good luck with all your future projects.