iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Lock out procedures

Started by jeff, April 21, 2001, 07:35:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff

In 1981 I worked as a head sawyer in Clare Michigan. I was 19 years old and indestructable. I had been told by my employer that any time that I worked on or around my mill, it needed to have the power disconnected and locked out with a keyed lock.

I rarely did it. If I was just getting out to sharpen or file the saw, I would never do it because I could clearly see if anyone entered my control booth, and that was the only way for my saw to start.

Whenever I did stop to sharpen, it was common practice for a couple of the mill hands to come and shovel accumulated sawdust from under the mill tracks into the sawdust elevator.

This day was no different. I was leaning against the headsaw filing or examining the sawteeth, the millhands were shoveling there next to me. The next thing I know I was laying between the tracks on the cement floor looking up at a running headsaw, not wanting to look down because I knew i must be badly injured. As it turned out I was only banged up from being deposited upside down through the mill tracks on to the floor.

What happened was this.

The head rig was powered by a 3 phase, 440 volt electric motor. It was started by a magnetic switch that was located inside the control booth. This switch is connected to a starter, which is basicly an electric coil that pulls  electrical contacts together to complete the circuit to start the saw. As it turned out this starter was located on a wall opposite of the mill, so the wires from the switch ran in a conduit from the saw booth across the floor under the mill, and up this wall to the starter.

While the mill hands were shoveling, one of them hit the conduit with his shovel, breaking it. That in turn broke the control wires inside and they shorted together. This activated the starter, which in turn started the headsaw with no one anywhere near the start button.