iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

One last hoorah!

Started by Deadwood, October 28, 2005, 03:51:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadwood

Nothing amazes me or gives me more respect than that of a forest. A working forest especially, but that is for another post.

I am not sure how many of you are familiar with Spalted Wood, but it is woods way of giving one more horrah before the wood is completed digested by the ecosystem of the forest floor. For any of you who are not familair with this wood, it basically is rotted wood. The amazing lines and streaks are caused by the wood fibers breaking down in decomposition leaving behind the mineral streaks the wood has goobled up for so many years. It would be pleasant enough if it was only one single wood species, but so many can do this that it really is a phenomon. Beech/Apple/Ash/Oak/Maple just to name a few!

As a woodworker, I find Spalted Wood difficult to work with as it is very brittle, unforgiving and is teeming with surprises. Still it's beauty is well worth the effort. I wait for months, sometimes years waiting for the tell-tale signs of mushrooms and black fungas to indicate that beauty is indeed just under the surface. As with anything, patience ussually pays off.

In order to make this post legal I must ask a question instead of just editoralizing, and thus it is this. What else do you know of that gives humans so much gratification after death? Certain no animal carcasses count, and despite what my new bride says, those dried flowers do not count for much either. To me anyway, it's truly intriguing how Spalted Wood can offer themselves up as one beautiful gift to mankind just before turning to dirt.

Gilman

WM LT70, WM 40 Super, WM  '89 40HD
Cat throwing champion 1996, 1997, 1999. (retired)

Tom