iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Felling Rookie Help

Started by Mikeisme09, May 20, 2019, 10:41:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mikeisme09

I'm a rookie and new to the site as well. I have enough saw, tractor, rope, snatch blocks, come-alongs and ambition... just not enough experience with these sorts of rotted or or beat up trees. Can one of you give me some advice as to how to attack this tree? I'm worried that it's gonna do whatever it wants to. I took a lot of trees down but these types intimidate me. The rest of the tree is in good shape. Thanks

Make The Woods Great Again.

BargeMonkey

Unless your trying to keep it off the house or something valuable trying to rig something like that with blocks / line ? could be really dangerous, the tops probably dead ? Something like that you can wedge a little, I would cut and drop it the way it naturally wants to go, everyone has an opinion on cutting methods, I would make a shallow face on the other side which is still probably good wood, bore cut thru till it's got 3-4" of tab on both sides in the back where its beaten, maybe insert a wedge ? cut 1 tab and then the other. You can do alot with a small wedge and knowing when to LEAVE wood attached, if that makes any sense. 

Skeans1

Where is the weight of this tree? Is the lean opposite of the weight? Can you go 90 degrees of the cat face? My first instinct would be to go 45 or 90 of the rot(cat face) and chasing the back cut from the rot side to the good.

Southside

Like Barge said - let it go the way it wants to go.  The problem is you won't know what you have for holding wood until it's too late.  If you try to change the lean and your hinge wood is no good then it's going to go where ever it Dang well pleases.  That photo says to me hinge wood will be very, very, delicate.  Have two very good escape paths and proceed with caution.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter