iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

The mill is growing!

Started by woodjunky, February 05, 2015, 08:05:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodjunky

hey all. my dad decided to join the fun, and get sawdusty up in my woods with me. . im a log home builder by trade, and we worked together for 20 or more projects. but he retired... few years ago i got a crappy old crane. last fall i got 3 good acres and a small mill. then i stalled out on cash. then here comes my dad! boooyea! in exchange for 3 old school timber frames for my sisters. he is going to blow his load to help me get goibg.   his legacy, my future. besides the new nyle l200. we are going to get a skidster to , well do everything:). landscaping. logging. load the mill, move ples in and out of the kiln. , and hopefully lumber onto peoples trailer for sale!
anyways. i had decided to be able to produce my own materials to build. . i will not be denied. its comforting to know im going to have a spotter out there now. im very capable, but we arent playin patty cakes out there. men at work.
anyways. kiln and skidster. done deal. going to build the kiln box out of 6" rigid pannels, and spray foam seams... looking to get 16' goods in sideways with 18 foot doors. two stacks deep anf about 6' height of usable space. just goibg to make the big door in pannels that lock in. and have small access door on side. man i cant wait for this stinkin snow to melt...

drobertson

sounds like exciting times for you guys! 
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Magicman

I wish you the very best with your "new" venture.  Especially the part about working with your Dad.   8)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People