iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

watching TV and the movies

Started by Cedarman, April 07, 2005, 09:32:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cedarman

Do any of you find your mind wondering from the plot while watching TV or movies and start looking at the lumber in old buildings?  Was it band sawn or circle sawn? What kind of wood is it? I look at stockades, fences, log trucks, sawmills etc.  Noticed a sawmill along side the road in Easy Rider.
I know I look at trees while traveling or flying.
I am in the pink when sawing cedar.

Buzz-sawyer

In the movie OPEN RANGE, there is a sawmill in the town in the story. I studied it closely, and wondered why they had an insert tooth blade on the wall (historically inaccurate) :D :D :D :D
    HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

Part_Timer

I start watching for different styles of furniture in westerns.  I like the old simple ructic style.  Even the worst of westerns usually has 2 or 3 ideas for the workshop ;D
Peterson 8" ATS.
The only place success comes before work is in the dictionary.

Jeff

Another movie I have seen a few times, that I just noticed had a sawmill at the beginning was Once Upon a Time in the West. 
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Tom

I don't watch too many movies, bu, I am constantly cleaning the grass and brush out from under my fenders.  It seems that I get so enthralled examining the trees on the side of the road that wander over onto the shoulder.   It's a failing that I experience more on the woods roads rather than the hi-way.  I try to follow the lines when the road is paved.  :D

Buzz-sawyer

OK,
another  western is DANCES WITH WOLVES.it has an interesting powered pit saw type deal running in it.
    HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

Ernie