iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

not getting stuck

Started by kelLOGg, January 21, 2010, 08:08:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kelLOGg

I live on heavy clay soil which when wet is a sawmill trap. Once on my own property I had to use my tractor and 4WD truck to pull the mill back to the shed. It was like pulling the wheel thru a mud wall. Who else experiences this? and how do you solve it? Flotation tires? I've seen many posted pics of our sawmills and don't see anything special about the tires on the mills. I've got a job coming up soon and the biggest challenge will be getting the mill out of the shed. >:(
Bob
Cook's MP-32, 20HP, 20' (modified w/ power feed, up/down, loader/turner)
DH kiln, CatClaw setter and sharpener, tandem trailer, log arch, tractor, thumb tacks

Tyrin2saw

well im a newb to sawmillin and moven em, but i do know mud. anybody i know who takes a trailer  4wheelin uses the fattest tire possible. I have 31''x13 little mud tires on my samurai they look like balloons.

take it easy, JD

coastlogger

clgr

backwoods sawyer

If you get into that real sticky stuff that builds up on the tires, just pull the fenders off.
Chain up the 4-wheel drive if you have to. I know I hate to put chains on in the mud to, but.....
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

captain_crunch

Sawdust slabs or anything but ROCKS in my limited experiance rocks and mill blades don't mix. One rock with in 20 miles seems to find blade >:( >:(
M-14 Belsaw circle mill,HD-11 Log Loader,TD-14 Crawler,TD-9 Crawler and Ford 2910 Loader Tractor

ladylake

Triple axles with dual tires should keep it up.  Steve