iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Band welding

Started by bandmiller2, March 18, 2015, 07:52:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandmiller2

There must be a cutoff point where a band milling business would benefit from buying band stock in a large roll and welding their own bands. Do we have any sawyers here that do that.?? Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

4x4American

I have a lot of 14'-6" blades that I need down to 158"  so I am going to be trying to cut them and weld them as an experiment one of these days
Boy, back in my day..

4x4American

I'm pretty sure that band stock is just flat.  You either have to grind or stamp the teeth yourself.  Not sure you can get a roll with the teeth on.  But what do I know?  I'm not a doctor, I just play one in a movie..
Boy, back in my day..

sealark37

Yes, saw blade stock can be purchased in rolls for making your own blades.  Have a look at youtube, "Soldering band saw blades".  If you wish to weld your blades, blade welders are available for $800-$1000.     Regards, Clark

pineywoods

Welding up new blades from roll stock MIGHT be feaseable, but I doubt it would pay. Welding broken blades is a waste of time. I started a project a decade ago to pick up broken blades from other sawyers and weld them back together. Grind off the broken edges square and made a jig to hold the ends together. Tried gas, braze, silver solder, and mig. Annealed the weld and ground it flat. Then I found a sawshop with a resistance welder. $2 per blade.  Set, sharpen and put them back in use. They usually broke somewhere else before the first sharpening...Today's thin kerf band blades are a bargain. Oh yeah, I occasionally get a few that break after 2 or 3 sharpenings, but be honest, blade costs are a very small part of the cost of running a bandmill.