iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

building a round walnut table

Started by tule peak timber, September 18, 2019, 07:22:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tule peak timber

Today I started a round walnut table and base 84 inches wide and 30 inches tall.Challenges are short time frame, sheer size and weight. The walnut top is actually a veneer ( 1 inch thick) that I put in the kiln yesterday with the carcass being Baltic birch plywood.It took me several days to figure out how to approach this build as I do not own a giant CNC machine. I will be doing things I've never tried before so I hope it works out ! This is a first in a series of 8 that the customer has tentatively ordered and I have free reign to interpret his photo supplied.

Cutting a dado to spline 2 sheets of ply together for the bottom template.

After a fresh grind with the big sander, liberal amounts of wax.It is super important that everything is flat as the angles on the top edge are referenced to the final build thickness/flatness. Rob
persistence personified - never let up , never let down

Jeff

Oh boy I'm looking forward to this topic!
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

thecfarm

From what I seen of your work in the past,I am sure you and the customer will be happy with the outcome of the tables.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Crusarius

i'm in for this trip! Love your work.

doc henderson

glad to see you back in the funny papers here! 8)
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

Southside