iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New guy here with a few questions

Started by tizzel, January 31, 2018, 11:51:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tizzel

Hey guys newbie here to sawmills. I recently purchased a Woodland Mills HM126 and have only put 2 logs through it so far. (Juniper and Aspen)
Weather was not favorable to access any more.  That and I had to come back to work for 4 weeks  >:(

I live in Newfoundland and we don't have a whole lot of different types of wood to choose from. Mostly spruce, juniper & birch. We do have pine here but it's protected and it's illegal to cut down. 

I seen quite a few posts about guys not milling during the winter. What is the reason behind this?

starmac

Mills are buried under snow.

You can mill all winter if it doesn't get to cold to stand.
Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

Crossroads

Only issue with milling in the winter here in western Oregon is, your gonna get wet. I even had a customer cancel today when there was no rain forecasted and reschedule for tomorrow when it's going to rain ☔️
With the right fulcrum and enough leverage, you can move the world!

2017 LT40 wide, BMS250 and BMT250,036 stihl, 2001 Dodge 3500 5.9 Cummins, l8000 Ford dump truck, hr16 Terex excavator, Valley je 2x24 edger, Gehl ctl65 skid steer, JD350c dozer

starmac

It gets cold enough here that unless you have some heat, you sure wouldn't want to mill.
I have heaters on all hydraulic heaters, and block heater on my forklift, but there are days even if I wanted to mill, I wouldn't crank it up, just too hard on everything.
Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, tizzel!

Basically, there are two reason why I don't saw during the Winter!

1. It gets way to cold out there!

2. I saw mobile, and I'm not going to drag my mill out there on the roads with all that salt spraying over the mill!