iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How would you price this job?

Started by Nomad, July 07, 2012, 07:08:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nomad

I got a call today from a fella asking for a price on cutting about 1500 linear feet of logs into a "D" profile for a cabin he wants to build.  He's supplying the logs, and says they'll be white pine.  Says he'll have the logs delivered here to Florida, to cut on his property. 
     He says he's done this before in Vermont and it worked well.  He's supplying the labor. 
     Now, the questions.  I've never done a job quite like that before.  I've never sawn white pine before either.  Any suggestions on how to price a job like this?  How does white pine saw? 
     Further, this job will be about 150 miles west of my home base in Jacksonville.  If I turn this down, (or he turns me down :D) is there anybody closer who'd be interested?  You'd need to be portable; he wants to do it at the building site. 
     I'd like to be able to give the guy a basic idea of costs, although there's no hurry on the cutting part.  He's looking toward the end of the year.
Buying a hammer doesn't make you a carpenter
WoodMizer LT50HDD51-WR
Lucas DSM23-19

lyle niemi

I just started to cut D logs today 8)

POSTON WIDEHEAD

White Pine saws really well. I use the 10 degree blade from Woodmizer. No problems.

If the logs are green, sap will be a small issue building up on the blade, but no sweat. A good lube mixture and a spray bottle of Diesel, sprayed every now and again on the blade will get you through the job. A little diesel spray every now and again will not stain the wood. Trust me.

If the logs are dryer, say a year old.....the sawing is even better. Not as much sap build up.

About your traveling expenses.....I'll leave that to Magic Man. He got the prices on traveling and how to charge down pat. I am stationary so I'll leave the $$$$$ part to the mobile guys.  :)

But Nomad.....you'll enjoy sawing White Pine.