iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Custom Door builders?

Started by getoverit, September 14, 2006, 11:08:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

getoverit

I went looking recently at enterance doors and got the shock of my life when I saw what they wanted for entrance doors.  Is anybody on the forum building custom doors?

Got any tips, tricks, or pictures you want to share on how to build custom entrance doors??
I'm a lumberjack and I'm ok, I work all night and sleep all day

Texas Ranger

I build custom doors, and windows, and transoms, and sidelights.  Where to start.  First, quality wood.  Getting harder to find wood that does not run on ya when ya try to work it.  Second, BIG flat table to build on. Third, lots of clamps, LOTS. Fourth, expect to be on the wrong side of the learning curve as the doors change.  I have been building doors for a couple of years for a stained glass man, and I am still learning all the tricks.

Start with an interior door and figure your plan, lay it out on paper, figure your design and think along the lines of splines and dowels to hold the thing together.

I realy don't know what to tell you, I am in the learning stage, and will have a picture of my current door when I get it together, or maybe a series as I have one pannel finished now.  It is a 4'x8' with glass insert (the other guy does the glass)  it is out of knotty pine (I know, but the customer wants "rough" doors)  We are building two sets of french doors, each door is 4'x8', so she will have an 8'x8' opening at front and back of house.  Be able to drive through, I guess.  I will try to post a shot tomorrow.
The Ranger, home of Texas Forestry

mike_van

I did my own after getting the "sticker shock" too -