iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Setting up my case 310 for skidding

Started by dtwigden, October 13, 2018, 07:32:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dtwigden

Hello everyone. This is my first post. 
My names is Dan and I'm based in North California. I've taken time off to build my own full scribe log home as well as log dug fir to build it from. 
I'm not a professional although I am doing this full time. I spent some time getting training on building log homes at the Great Lakes school of log building in MN and I'm looking forward to putting my skills to use this winter. 
I'm working with logs about 20" to 16" at the big end. That's about all I can handle. 
I just picked up a running 1958 case 310 that was only used for plowing and so my goal is to fit it out with a winch. Weather that's a Gearmatic 9 or a Carco 9 or some kind of PTO drive or hydraulic winch is yet to be determined but I absolutely need a solution right away. So I'm calling on you to help me put together a shopping list to get a skidding winch set up for under 2k. Ive been looking for the stockwinch that came with the 310 but they seem to be really hard to find. That being the case can you recommend a hydraulic winch out there new or used models are fine and the best system to drive it?

nativewolf

Welcome to the forum, always good to get more folk from CA.  I'm not going to be of any use on the winch but I'm sure that a few folks will chime in over the next day or two.  If it sinks down the list just respond to bring it up.  You might want to add you are looking for insight on winch choice in subject.
Liking Walnut

Autocar

Welcome to the forum , you may try to google old case parts you would be surprized whats out there. Theres alot of place that deal with older stuff good luck on your hunt  ;) 
Bill

J 5