iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need early sawmill information

Started by ArtoisDave, November 26, 2012, 10:16:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ArtoisDave

I am historian and am looking for information on early sawmills. I have found the location of an early sawmill Maybe as early as 1847 near Red Bluff California. The saw was brought overland to California in 1845 by William B. Ide. It is / was located on a bend of the Sacramento River with a mill race of about 1 ½ miles. Rubbings of period timbers from a family barn indicate that the water powered saw was about 48 inches in diameter. It appears that the millrace may be larger near the mill, possibly to store logs??
William Ide was from New Hampshire and a wood worker by trade.

Any insight would be very welcomed.

Many Thanks,

Dave Freeman
Artois Ca. 

VictorH

Welcome to the Forestry Forum!!  I can't help you in your quest but I wish you luck in finding what you need.

Victor

Solomon

Welcome to the Forestry Forum Dave.   I am afraid I am not able to offer any help either, but there are many indiviuals on this forum who know many things about the industry as a whole.  Don't give up on us, someone is likely to log in after being off line for six months who has the imformation you're looking for and is very willing to share it with you.   Keep popping in to say hello' you're always welcome.   Pete.
Time and Money,  If you have the one, you rarely have the other.

The Path to Salvation is narrow, and the path to damnnation is wide.

5quarter