iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Maple sap runs down from the crown in the spring????? Really????

Started by Southside, January 25, 2014, 09:16:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TessiersFarm

I am a maple producer and a farmer, I found the article interesting, however question the long term sustainability of it.  I think it would be expensive and time consuming to have to re-plant acres of maples every year.  I don't see how row crop practices can be successfully used in tree production, different root structures, different growing patterns and seeding concerns.  Maybe I'm not seeing the whole picture.  I think the current commercial agricultural practices are destructive and not sustainable, so I guess I am a little biased.  I find it hard to argue with hundreds years of maple history, compared to a research paper.  The maple syrup produced should more than offset the down grading of one 8' log on a tree, in my opinion.
Stihl E14, 180, 026, 036, 361, 045
Husky 266, 372, 394
Dolmar 111

Ianab

You will see in the reply Nas posted, they aren't killing the sapling when they harvest. In effect it's "Coppicing", which is traditional harvesting method. Basically you cut the tree, leaving the stump, and let it regrow from the stump. Because the regrowth is from a complete root system it's much faster then a new sapling would normally grow, so in a few years you are ready to harvest again.

I don't know if this method is going to to be practical, but until someone studies it, and does some practical experiments, who knows?

Lots of ideas seemed crazy, until someone tried them and they worked.  ;)

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

beenthere

Seems those with an investment in a vacuum system, that it certainly would be worth a try. Sounds like there was extra flow of sap from the saplings, and that may equate to some big volumes per acre compared to tapping older, mature trees.