iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fransgard or Farmi?

Started by macpower, January 17, 2006, 08:20:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

macpower

I've had limited experience with both. Anyone have an opinion as to one having any real advantage over the other?
Purveyor of Stihl chain saws.
Thomas 6013 Band Mill, Kubota L3400DT, Fransgard V3004, 2 lazy horses and a red heeler

thecfarm

macpower,I see that you have a Thomas bandsaw.Hope you like it.Had my for 4 years now and I really enjoy using it. Sorry can't help you with the winch question,I have a Norse.The only reason we bought the Norse over the Farmi was at that time the Farmi did not have a pivoting butt plate like the Norse did.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

twistedtree

Quote from: macpower on January 17, 2006, 08:20:49 PM
I've had limited experience with both. Anyone have an opinion as to one having any real advantage over the other?

I looked at both and ultimately decided on a Farmi 351.  I couldn't fnd anyone with anything but great things to say about them, and they appeared to me to be more solidly built than the Fransgard and the Norse models.  That said, both Fransgard and Norse have great reputations too.

Corley5

We've got a Fransgard 4000 and have been very satisfied with it.  I've never heard a bad word about a Farmi 8)
Burnt Gunpowder is the Smell Of Freedom

BBK

We've had a Farmi since 1984. It has served well with no problems and regular maintenance. In fact I'm wondering if it will ever wear out. ;D
Don't know about Fransgard.
I love Farming, Logging, Sawmilling, Fishing, and Hunting.

Woodhog

One thing you may want to consider on your winch purchase is the angle formed by the PTO to winch
driveshaft...

If you ever use a forestry trailer with a pintle hook on the underneath drawbar the PTO shaft to the winch may hit the pintle hook when the winch is lowered in a hole or low spot in the woods..