iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

National Hardwood Lumber Association Inspectors?

Started by SkidrowJoe, April 03, 2006, 06:17:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkidrowJoe

Did any of you guys or girls go to the NHLA Inspection school?  I was thinking about it and wondered if there are any alumni on the site.
The stumps of today are the ceilings of tomorrow.

ElectricAl

InspectorWoody is a NHLA Lumber Grader.

His time on the FF is limited so the best way to ask him a question is through a PM.

Linda and I custom saw NHLA Grade Lumber, do retail sales, and provide Kiln Services full time.

inspectorwoody

Greetings SkidrowJoe

I am a graduate of the 136th class of the NHLA inspection school! What a great experience. You have to be very dedicated if you want to make it through the 14 weeks. The instructors are great and are willing to take as much time with you as you need if they see you are putting forth a solid effort.

Memphis is also a great city to cut loose in for your short stay! Plenty of stuff to do and see. Beale Street, Peabody Hotel (Famous for the ducks!), Tower Records, Graceland and the list goes on.

Graduating from the NHLA made me so proud...I felt like I had accomplished more than some of those who go to college for four years. You have to want to inspect lumber period...this is not something to do just to do. I guess another thing that helped drive me was the fact my company paid for it and I had a contract to fulfill. I didn't want to let myself or anyone else down.

What has you thinking about going? Fill me in a little bit...I'll be more than happy to talk to you about the school, what its like after school etc. Any questions you have, I will try to answer and if I don't have the answer I'll find it!

Look forward to talking to you

Gadget

SkidrowJoe