iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New LT10 woodmizer set up

Started by luap, August 09, 2020, 06:09:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

luap

I have a friend with a brand new WM Lt 10 that is just now getting around to setting it up. He is not the kind of guy to read the manual and has asked me to help him. I have been looking at the manual and was wondering if anybody has had one of those ahah! moments that if they were doing it again would do differently. I have zero experience with a band mill other than reading the FF.

Magicman

"He is not the kind of guy to read the manual" so he got you to do it. ::)

I just wonder what he is gonna do when he needs to check/align the various sawmill components??  :-X
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

luap

Well, He is old as dirt and missing the fingers on one hand, so what's a friend for? This is not his first mill as he had one in the Alaska bush before moving back south. I'm not next door to him and he offered to pay me so he is not taking advantage of me. 

Redhorseshoe

I put my first mil (lt15) together back in May.  The best advice I can give is to go slow, not even take into consideration how long it's taking you to do it.  Other than that, read and reread the manual during assembly and also find woodmizer's assembly videos on youtube.  As tempting as it is to get it done ane cut into that first log, take all the extra time to make sure it's put together and aligned/blade tensioned properly.  Mine was pretty straightforward but there are lots of steps to assembly and alignment.  I'm sure you'll do fine.

Sixacresand