iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Firewood Kilns How To Operate? HELP!!!!

Started by jadiehatcher, December 03, 2019, 08:34:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jadiehatcher

Hey Everyone,

I'm in my first year of firewood production.  We mainly focus on retail ¾ Cubic Feet Bundles for retail stores.

I purchased a 36 Cord Kiln that is direct fired kiln with a 5,000,000 BTU burner (natural gas).  I figured incorrectly that the kiln would come with a magic button to run the perfect cycle for me.  Turns out there is a lot of trial n' error and testing to be done to find the most efficient kiln cycle for my desired outcome.  I'd love some feedback from experts and others who've dried firewood.  Below are the variables I have for my application.

• 1.   Mix of red oak / white oak and poplar.
  • 2.   5' x 5' x 5' Kiln Baskets
  • 3.   I can heat (Dry Bulb) my kiln up to 300 Degrees "safely".  Currently using a Set Point of 275 Degrees
  • 4.   Desired moisture content of 18% or less (including core)
  • 5.   Using a  Future Design Control Panel.  It's a pretty cool setup that allows you to build your own drying program with as many stages as you'd imagine.

I'd I'd love to get my drying time down to 30-36 Hours.  I'm at 54 Hours now....which is probably a little too long.
I've talked to several experts and there has not been too many cut and dry answers to my questions, so I thought I  might ask some of you that have more experience drying FIREWOOD (note not lumber!).

1.   What is the desired temperature of the core of the wood for the best drying condition?

2.    It is necessary to use a "rest cycle" to allow the moisture from the inside of the wood to equalize with the outside   temp/humidity?

3.    How often do you use a "dump cycle" to remove the moisture from inside the kiln?

4.    Is there a standard program that most operators use to dry firewood?