iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sassafras for Timber Framing

Started by mattlynch, October 23, 2022, 04:48:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mattlynch

Hello everybody.

I have a small timber framing company and a client has recently asked if I can build a 20x36 cruck style pavilion out of sassafras. It is an abundant resource here in mid-TN and less expensive than white oak.

Has anybody had experience with sassafras in timber framing? I know this was posted before but I have searched and searched and cannot find the old post.

Thanks for the help!

B.C.C. Lapp

I've no experience using sass for timber framing but I can tell you that they mill rail road ties from sass and it makes very good long lasting fence posts.  Ive got split sass fence posts here that have been there 15 plus years.
Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf.

Chilterns

I seem to recall that Eric Sloan makes mention of Sassafras in his book :-

SLOAN, E., 1965. A Reverence for Wood. New York, USA: Ballantine Books.

Don P

I like the wood, it is light, stable, decay resistant. "Poor man's Oak" it also gets sold as chestnut occasionally.  It is not particularly strong, especially when I see it in the same line with white oak, and it has no published allowable design values. The average ultimate strengths are in the tables in chapter 4 of the Wood Handbook but those are not the design numbers. I think it would be a fine framing wood if you can get that worked out.

Sloane mentions it mostly as a medicinal. He notes that Jamestown colonists in 1622 were charged with collecting 100 lbs per man per year for the crown on penalty of 10 lbs of tobacco. Both new products that were creating strong demand back home.

mattlynch

Quote from: Don P on October 24, 2022, 07:28:52 AM