iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Board and Batten

Started by FalconFan, January 27, 2016, 09:44:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FalconFan

I have a pole barn that just has vertical board siding and I want to close it in and insulate it.  Is there any reason why I cant/shouldnt use the pine 1x3's, from Home Depot, as batten material like what is in the picture?

beenthere

Longevity might be the only reason. What species of pine do you think they are?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

FalconFan

Appears to be white pine but I am not an expert by any means. Im estimating 70% of the batten will be sheltered by an awning that goes around most of the barn.

starmac

I would bet we have a member sawyer close to you that would be glad to make you some battens.
Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

grweldon

Quote from: starmac on January 27, 2016, 11:28:30 AM
I would bet we have a member sawyer close to you that would be glad to make you some battens.

I believe I know of at least 3 within a 60-mile radius of Cartersville...
My three favorite documents: The Holy Bible, The Declaration of Independence and The Constitution of the United States.

FalconFan

Whats the best way to go about tracking one of those folks down?

Raider Bill

Custom Sawyer and WDH come to mind
The First 70 years of childhood is always the hardest.

Haggis

I built a shed last summer and was looking a the 1X2's from home depot but didn't liked the look of them so went and purchased the full rough sawn, full dimention 1X12's pine from home depot and ripped them on a table saw. They look a tone better in my opinion. But if you have a big building to do it would take a llot of time to cut them up.

Here is the final look.

petefrom bearswamp

More likely spruce or fir from Canada.
Too many knots showing for EWP IMO
Dont know why they wont do the job.