iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Completed VT solar kiln, what’s next?

Started by BillG102350, December 10, 2017, 12:00:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BillG102350

My kiln is complete. Built well, with R-20 in walls and floor and solar glazing. Four circulating fans and vents as VT solar plans require. What should I do regarding measuring humidity, fan control and venting.

I realize that I am asking a lot here, but as a newbie, I just want to get started. I have a band saw mill and have been milling and air drying for several years now. I am going to go slow with this as I'm not willing to ruin wood as I learn.

I guess what I need to know is about initial start-up with a freshly sawn load. I have been reading posts here for a while. It's time to seek advice.

GeneWengert-WoodDoc

What species? What thickness?  What part of the country?  Air dried or green?

You might be able to finish a load of air dried in the next month or so with warm weather.  Green might take until April.  So, start with air dried is my suggestion.

Fans come on about 10AM and off at 6 PM this time of year.  Vents cracked open only a very small amount.

Overall, there have been quite a few articles on running a solar kiln in Sawmill & Woodlot magazine.

Questions?
Gene - Author of articles in Sawmill & Woodlot and books: Drying Hardwood Lumber; VA Tech Solar Kiln; Sawing Edging & Trimming Hardwood Lumber. And more

BillG102350

Hi Gene,
Thanks for following up on this post. I am actually working with V&F auto on his kiln.  We are at a point where setting up the electrical and electronic components is at hand. We are located in western Massachusetts. We have sawn maple, white and red oak, black walnut, cherry, catalpa, and eastern white pine.

We are trying to automate as much of this as possible as we both work day jobs.

- We want to control the fans to start and stop based on temp. What would you suggest for high and low limits?