iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

The Official VooDooChikin sawmill build thread!

Started by VooDooChikin04, April 24, 2020, 09:02:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

VooDooChikin04

Hello People!

Getting this thread started so I have a place to start detailing out my build and posting pictures. I have a handful of the important components gathered already. I have about 20 years of metal fabrication experience but i'd consider myself a noob, and sometimes lack the engineering grasp of things :).  

I had started this plan with a sketchup design utilizing 2"x6"x3/16" -24ft rectangle tube for the bed, and various square tube for the carriage and head beam.  However, looking at everything we need to do here on our acreage this summer and the build time/weight of such a project, I have take a new route! I figure I'd rather get sawing sooner than later.

The plan is a towable bandmill using the surplus center sheaves on 1.5" axles, minimum 13hp honda (which I have, but looking for larger engine), 20ft x36" (or48" if I can find it) heavy duty pallet rack upright as my base track bed, V-groove wheels on inverted angle iron for the carriage motion, ACME rod lift mechanism with dual 1.25" chrome shaft & linear rod bearings for the vertical guidance, winch or servo motor for the powered lift, more than likely 2.5"x3/16" square tube for the carriage.  Depending how rigid the pallet racking is, I may support it on 2x4"x3/16" rectangle tube.  Trying to decide if I want mechanical tension or hydraulic for the blade tension system. Ultimately I would like power feed down the track, as well as hydraulic log handling but that may be left up to a 2nd build, need to get my feet wet first.

I have enjoyed reading through as much content on this forum as I can, and like any dedicated forum I belong to, you guys seem like a great bunch!

-Matt

VooDooChikin04