iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Maybe biting off more than I can chew.

Started by OzarkChris, September 10, 2023, 04:20:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OzarkChris

I'm really a newbie when it comes to bandsaw mills in fact, my first mill is still in the process of being built. I know wood, have worked a good majority of domestic species and maybe 1/4 of the exotics and have milled with a 22" CSM before I picked up the HM126 - 9.5hp was all I could afford (what momma would let me spend)  :D. Anyway, we are building a new house on our property and had to remove a dozen or so trees. My wife really wants me to start on the hickory so she can use it in the house. Now the issue, I've seen and read almost everything that a search for hickory on this site has to offer. What I see most frequently is "use it for firewood", "it will continue moving long after you are dead", "really hard on equipment", etc. I did become fairly proficient with the CSM but only for slabbing - for example, I'm having a hard time visualizing how to 1/4 saw a log with this new mill.

What I don't see is how to mill the hickory so the issues might be minimized. As I stated earlier, momma (wife) wants hickory slabs, not firewood! Happy wife, happy life!

Any thoughts, tips, tricks that this newbie can use before I get started? Hickory trees are 30" or less (most under 20") and mostly straight
(I do understand I'll have to break out the chainsaw for more than just bucking it down to 8'on the larger ones, and I do have some good ripping chains).

BTW I'm no spring chicken either. 

Any help would be a true blessing!

Thanks in advance!

Crusarius

I have had better luck cutting hickory than I have spruce. I think I am an exception on this site. Of all the hickory I have cut I have not noticed what you talk about with alot of movement. Of course there are some pieces that twist like crazy, but overall I do not have many that are that bad.