iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another Newbie Question - Anchorseal

Started by bee_pipes, November 04, 2005, 08:55:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bee_pipes

Hi! Another Newbie here.

Just ordered some anchorseal, working on bush hogging space for drying piles and slecting trees for first cut.

How long can logs last before sealing ends? Don't want to waste the wood with endchecking, but don't want to waste the anchorseal if it can wait till the wood is stacked in drying piles. Will the logs check that fast?

Thanx in advance

Regards,
Pat
I am not getting fat! I am developing a powerful set of muscles that allow me to sit for long periods of time without tiring...

Ga_Boy

The best bang for your investment of Anchor Seal is to seal the logs as soons as possible.

The purpose is to prevent end checking the longer you wait the greater the possibility of checking.

Equate end checking to loss of profit. 

Seal them NOW!
10 Acers in the Blue Ridge Mountains

ohsoloco

Not only what Ga-boy said, but it's much easier to  slap anchorseal on the ends of logs instead of painting the ends of each board  :P

DonE911

The sooner the better...

Some logs will check if wait long enough to eat your lunch.

Don't give away money .....  seal'em up as soon as possible.

bee_pipes

Quote from: DonE911 on November 04, 2005, 11:36:43 AM
The sooner the better...
Some logs will check if wait long enough to eat your lunch.

Exactly what I was looking for - that fast, eh?

Now, will the boards have to be sealed again? From what ohsoloco said - seal the logs and forget the boards?

Thanks

Regards,
Pat
I am not getting fat! I am developing a powerful set of muscles that allow me to sit for long periods of time without tiring...

Ga_Boy

Yes, once you seal the logs the resultant boards from the milling process are end sealed.

The only exception to this is if you have crotch wood, then you must coat the crotch grain after the milling process.

flip