iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

how to gewt lots to cut

Started by ford62783, December 03, 2009, 04:24:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ford62783

i am new to the busines end of logging and live in ny i am looking for wood lots to secure to have ample business for when i start my own business. i was wondering how i go about finding lots to cut
timberjack 240e

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum!

In answer to your question, I'd suggest talking to a local Forester in your area!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

ford62783

thank you i have tried that but with the price of pine right now any jobs of size are being kept hush hush the biggest problem is no skidder at the time being but after income taxes i will be buying one. well im on that subject ive been told by a few loggers that rent to own is an option with a portion of the profits going toward the price wanted by the owner has anyone in ny or surrounding areasw heard of that type of oppertunity
timberjack 240e

Magicman

First,  Welcome to FF.  Go to your local NRCS office, and your County Extension office.  Also, your county should have a County Forester, and also there probably is a County Forestry Ass'n (CFA).

Logging is a business that a lot of folks wish they weren't in right now.  They are trapped with equipment notes to pay, having to lay off workers, and wondering where their next logging job is coming from.  You really can't blame anyone that has work for being closed mouth.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

ford62783