iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood-fueled mill

Started by dboyt, June 01, 2007, 10:27:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dboyt

Greetings!
I've been a "lurker" on the forum for a while, but am new to posting.  By way of introduction, I'm a writer for Sawmill & Woodlot magazine, & was the announcer (and general lackey for setting up and tearing down) at the Shoot-Out.  I manage a patch of timber in southwest Missouri & run a portable band mill in my spare time.  Equpment includes a D2 Cat, 8N Ford, an assortment of both red & gray chain saws.  Building a solar kiln from a 20' shipping container.
Current big project is in getting a mill to run on wood.  Using pyrolysis to heat wood to make charcoal & wood gas to run a genset to power an electric mill.  I believe electric is the way to go, as it will allow the production and consumption of gas to take place away from the mill (lots of CO in it), keep noise down, allow use of the grid when the gassification system is down, and (hopefully) accept surplus electricity.  I'd like to hear from anyone who has experience along these lines.
By the way, I'm always looking for ideas for articles.  If there's something you'd like to see, or know about, drop me a line.  Or stop by.  I enjoy talking trees & machines, & coffee's always on!
Norwood MX34 Pro portable sawmill, 8N Ford, Lewis Winch

sawguy21

Greetings and welcome to the forum. I don't have any answers to your question but do know of at least one large mill that uses hog fuel to run their steam plant. They are virtually self sufficient for power and take waste from surrounding mills which helps them and keeps the truckers busy.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

GF