iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member looking to purchase saw

Started by tiogajoe, February 23, 2019, 08:19:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tiogajoe

Hi everyone. New guy from North Central Pa.  I'm looking to buy a saw as I live in a very wooded area that has lots of access to logs.  Mainly ash, hemlock, White pine etc.  I became interested in purchasing a s saw after the power company cleared the road of nice red pines.  I kills me to see them laying on the ground going to waste.  A lot are very straight and nice size in diameter.  I have permission to take them as most everyone does not want them.  I'm retired and having worked in the home building field.  I worked full time as a fire fighter and on my days off I was a carpenter on the side.  My Wife and I moved to Tioga County 4 years ago. we have a little over 11 ac. that I built and home and several out buildings mostly out of Rough sawn Hemlock.  I found a used Woodland Mills HM126 with an extra bed and went to look at it.  The saw head was not well cared for and the owner had the carb off because it would not run.  It looked like they sprayed a whole can of starter fluid trying to start it.  I was not impressed as he wanted $2500 and a lot was wrong that I could tell with my limited knowledge of sawmills.  My budget is about 4k for a used mill...If I could find one as they seem few and far between around these parts.  This has led me to look at new entry saws.  The two that I really like are the Ez boardwalk Jr and the Norwood LM29. Both are at the top of my budget..$5400 to my door. Both are powered by  a Honda 13hp and the two saws are within $100 of each other.  I'm very impressed with the EZ Jr. and have talk with Mr Stanton several times.  I like the fact that the bed is one piece.  I could pick it up with my tractor and put it on my trailer if I wanted to move it?  I also spoke with the folks at Norwood and they were very helpful. I'm only looking to saw for myself and some neighbors. I already