iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Recommended books on milling and tree ID

Started by jackganssle, February 19, 2010, 08:51:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jackganssle

Folks,

Well, I've placed an order for an LT-15 and can't wait for its arrival. My wife keeps shaking her head in disbelief.

Can anyone recommend books on identifying trees, and on the process of sawmilling? I've read a lot about the latter here on this great site, but remain somewhat mystified about sawing for grade and all.

Thanks,
Jack
Woodmizer LT-15

LOGDOG

Hi Jack,

Welcome to the Forum. WoodMizer has a video series that is an introduction to sawing. You may want to check it out. You can just call up to WoodMizer and ask for it. They'll know what you're looking for.

LOGDOG

fishpharmer

Good question Jack, one I too have asked myself and some members of Forestry Forum.  I am no expert on whats available in the book department.  Yet there doesn't really seem to be any one fully comprehensive book about sawmilling and tree ID.  You will find that Forestry Forum is the single largest source of milling knowledge in the universe ;D  I would venture to say there is no milling situation or even tree ID that an FF member has not come across before.

That being said, glad to have you as a member to FF.  Stick around some and you will learn a lot, don't hesitate to ask or use the search button.  Might even make a few friends. 8)
Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader

The reason a lot of people do not recognize opportunity is because it usually goes around wearing overalls looking like hard work. --Tom A. Edison

Jeff

There is no book anywhere that has as much information on milling as you can find right here on the Forestry Forum and its all right here at your finger tips.
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.