iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Pushing rivets out with a chain breaker

Started by JuJuOne, February 23, 2011, 10:08:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JuJuOne

I am new to bulk chain and have been having trouble using a bench mounted chain breaker to push rivets out. With tremendous pressure, I can push the narrower end of the rivet out of its hole but the rivet head won't budge from its slot. As a result the tie strap comes open but I still can't break the chain.

I read somewhere on the forum that people file off the rivet head. Is this the standard practice?

As there are no detailed instructions about chain breaking, I could use some advice.

Also are rivets destroyed in the process of breaking the chain or can they be reused?

Be grateful for some help.

sawguy21

If you need tremendous pressure the punch is either A too big for the rivet or B (more likely) not centered. Are you bending the driver? Also make sure you are using the correct slot in the anvil and the driver does not slip into the groove. 
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

JuJuOne

I am quite sure I have the chain set in the anvil properly and that I have the driver properly centred, but as I say it seems the rivet head won't slide out of its slot even though I push the narrow end of the rivet out.

sharkey

Your making this too hard.  Buzz the head off the rivet with a die grinder or a dremel and a cut off wheel.  Then you can use just about anything to push the rivet out.  Use a new tie strap and pre set (rivet) to replace the one you removed.  Spin the rivet head and your done.

dovetails

Quote from: JuJuOne on February 23, 2011, 10:56:08 PM
I am quite sure I have the chain set in the anvil properly and that I have the driver properly centred, but as I say it seems the rivet head won't slide out of its slot even though I push the narrow end of the rivet out.