iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Should we split in the woods?

Started by Wallys World, February 16, 2014, 10:02:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Al_Smith

You probabley wouldn't want to cut it down and split it in somebodys residental yard .In the woods it wouldn't matter .

Just depends I suppose .Sometimes I snake them out to a clearing in the woods  then split them .Sometimes I cut them up and dump them in another area until I get a big pile then attack them .

A big tree it's a lot easier to haul the splitter to the wood than vica versa.

Wallys World

This has been a great response to my question. I have been cutting wood for over 40 years (oh my!) and have done it many ways. It is great to see other ideas on seeing if we can do it better. In fact tomorrow I'll be heading in our woods to tackle a large blow down Maple that has been down a couple of years (and up off the ground). I have a women in need of wood and we are out of seasoned wood right now. Hopefully I can get a couple of loads cut and split tomorrow. Today it is 67 degree and sunny, tomorrow around 55 and partly cloudy. A lot of snow went away today, we got 12 inches (rare for us).
Wood-Mizer LT28G25, Wood-Mizer EG10 Edger, Wallenstein Timber Talon log loader trailer, Wallenstein GX640 wood splitter, Wallenstein WP835 Fire Wood Processor, Kubota BX 22 TLB, JD 445, JD Gator, Home made arch, Stihl 024 Super, MS251, MS311, MS440 Magnum & MS660.

yellowrosefarm