iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is the Woodwmizer Debarker worth the money?

Started by dogbo2013, June 13, 2021, 07:25:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dogbo2013

I have ordered an LT40 and added the debarker, but now I'm wondering if it's worth the money. I have limited experience running an LT40 with a debarker, but it seemed to be more of a hassle than it was worth when I did. It was hard to adjust and keep adjusted to an irregular log. It bit in too far several times causing the blade to stop and trip the breaker. I know that it should help extend blade life, but how much? At almost $2000 for the upgrade, would it be cheaper to just replace the blade a little sooner?
GMB

Dan_Shade

The debarker significantly extends blade life.

I'm very glad that I have one on my LT-40 

Dan
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

WDH

I have found the debarker to be invaluable to me.  I would hate to saw without it. 
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Magicman

With my portable sawing profile and always sawing customer's logs, I would hate to even think of sawing without a Debarker.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Chuck White

Takes a little while to figure out when it comes to adjusting the debarker, but it takes patience!

Once you figure it out, there's really nothing to it!

I'm very happy there's one on my mill!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.