iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Woodland Mills Bunk

Started by Michaeljz, June 21, 2021, 09:45:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michaeljz

Hi guys, 

I just purchased a Woodland Mills 130Max sawmill. I am very much a beginner in all Sawmill related operations. My question is in regards to the bunks of the sawmill not sitting flat on the bed. The rails are level in the length and the width as well as flat. While attaching my bunks to the rails i notice that they do not secure flat (there is a tilt). Knowing that I could clearly be doing something wrong as I am very new to this, I placed the bunks on my level and flat concrete garage floor and they still sit with a little tilt (the top of the bunk is not level when I place a level perpendicular to the length of the bunk). I am not sure if this is how they are supposed to be and if I am doing anything wrong ? I was wondering if anyone had this problem and or any input on how to fix it. Thank you.

btulloh

Hmmmm..  doesn't sound right at all. First thing is to confirm that they're twisted. I would not consider a concrete floor to be a good reference though. You can use winding sticks, an angle gauge or several other methods, but just be sure before proceeding. Sounds like they may have been cut from a piece of twisted tubing and they're never going to be right.

Woodland Mills has good support and they'll take care of it, within their ability these days. Everyone has labor and supply chain issues, but they will want to replace the bunks if there's a twist in them. Just confirm the issue and notify them.

Sorry to hear you're having an issue right out of the gate, but things do happen and they'll take care of it.

The bed takes a little care and fiddling to get it set up accurately. If the bunks are twisted they'll never be right though and you'll never get it to align properly.  The rails and bunks are the key to sawing good lumber so a defect like twisted bunks will cause trouble forever.
HM126

backwoodsdave