iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

leak

Started by trapper, February 06, 2024, 08:03:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trapper

My central boiler has a leak again.  Last one two years ago.  My neighbor is a welder by trade.  Last time he said the medal in the firebox is getting thin.  Leaks are always by the stay pins.   He grinds away  and puts A small patch welded to the stay pin.  Has anyone welded a patch over the entire side wall of one and what would be any negative of doing it?   This furnace is about 20 years old and  I would like to keep burning wood for a couple years yet.  Makes me feel good to do it  and we heat an entrance that would otherwise be cold.  Also gets rid of the few slabs I make. Also I like the simplicity of the one I have not worried about how much wood I use..
stihl ms241cm ms261cm  echo 310 400 suzuki  log arch made by stepson several logrite tools woodmizer LT30

rusticretreater

I just put a new bottom on a woodmaster 4400.  It had been left sitting and totally rusted out the bottom.  I went and bought a long strip of steel 4" x 20' by 1/4" and cut it into sections long enough to insure the holes were covered and it was also attached at the ends to good solid metal. I then created a template out of cardboard that matched the curve of the tank.  Then I took all the pieces to be rolled to that shape.

I beveled the edges of each strip(it would have been easier to bevel them prior to bending) and welded them into place.  The bevel is very important as it gives a groove for the welding pool to collect over the seam between plates. I was able to fashion a way for my hydraulic piston tool to push the plates to match the curve precisely, tacking one end and pressing the plate where needed, welding as I went.