iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Spruce Beetle

Started by Woodhog, October 19, 2009, 04:27:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodhog

Will bark from spruce bark beetle infestations spread the beetles in the fall. Under the bark at this time when it is peeled or falls off the trees seem to have a worm stage parasite of some sort chewing away. Do these die off in the cold weather  about -5 to +2 average in our winters or do they keep chewing all winter.
If this wood is moved now will the area it is moved to be infested by something in this bark now or next spring perhaps.We are in N.S.

Thanks

estiers

Check out this US Forest Service publication: http://www.barkbeetles.org/spruce/sbfidl127.htm

From what I read, the cold matters not and the larva will continue to grow and thrive, so movement could indeed spread the pest
Erin Stiers
State Plant Health Director - Minnesota
United States Department of Agriculture

woodtroll

I am not an expert on the spruce bark beetle but understand pine bark beetles. If the bark is of the log or tree there is nothing to protect the larva. It also does not have cambium to eat. Plus when it warms up again it has no protection from predators. Bark beetles need to be in the cambium layer to live and go through stages. The larva do not attack trees the beetle does. Boring into them, laying eggs in the chamber. The eggs hatch and the larva eat (killing the tree) then change to beetles that can fly to the next tree. And so the cycle continues.

nb_foresttech