iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wiring question??

Started by Josh3760, November 11, 2015, 07:42:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josh3760

Hello all! I'm josh. New  to posting but I have been lurking around here the past few years. I am very impressed with the amount of knowledge here and the lack of Egos versus other sites My background is heavy equipment operator both in the woods and construction. I built my mill about 3 years ago its a bandmill with 13 HP Honda, 20 ft bed, all manual. It has been very profitable and sawed thousands of board feet with only a few problems along the way. Nothing hard to over come.  But I'm ready to step up to power feed and power up and down. The up and down is easy I have it all figured out and working on the bench just need to put it on. But as for the power feed I have a question on the wiring part of it. I'm using a drum switch identical to a wm hooking to a wheel chair motor then on to a drum and cable. My trouble is how to wire the speed control inline with the drum switch to have adjustable speed forward and by pass it on the way back for a full speed return without using the pot all the time. I have read and searched for every power feed  question on this forum and others but never have I came across a wiring diagram or a complete description of how to do it. My pwm speed control has 4 terminals on it +&- in and +&- out to the motor. if I put it on the forward speed part of the drum switch a +from switch and+ to the motor where are the - going seems like it would have to make a full loop through the speed control to work correctly. I am no electrician I can build just about anything out of metal or wood but electrical circuits I get a little lost ???. Thanks for any help
Josh

Josh3760

Here is the mill and new shed.
Josh

deepsouth.us

I know far too little about electric, but I know a nice shed when I see one. That, sir, is a dandy.
Timberking 2000

Kingmt

Wow! That is a very nice looking mill & shed.