iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First saw for felling

Started by EnglishWoodsman, July 31, 2016, 06:59:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EnglishWoodsman

Hi guys,

So I've finally got work felling. Although we do some large fell, here in the UK I'm unlikely to cut many trees in this job over 2 or 3' across, and if that happens, I'll either get the boss to do it or borrow his larger saw. However, I'm going to save up for my own, first saw which I can use for work and also use at college for my second (final) year when we learn windblown and large fell. My estimation, and I am a newbie so forgive me if I'm wrong, is that I will need a saw in the 60cc range, taking bars between 15-20" and this will do pretty much everything I need.

There are so many models out there, ones to get second hand, ones from dealers, old and reliable or old and discontinued for good reason that I don't really know what's the best value for money. A quick tally of cc, power output and kg/kW ratio has suggested the Husq 560 technically comes out best of advertized current models, followed closely by the MS362 and then by the 555, but of course numbers games don't tell you whether the production is decent and the saw will last. Obviously, if it's a new saw, I will have to save up and although used saws can go for a good price, this says nothing of how well they will work when I start one up.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Much appreciated

Ianab

Well a 60cc saw / 20" bar is probably where you should be looking. Perfectly able to cut a 36' tree with a bit of skill and cunning.

Thing is there are various grades of saw in that range. There is "Cheap Junk". Avoid that. There is "semi-pro" which is aimed at farmers and firewood cutters. That's the Husky non XP range and saws like the MS311 etc. Good saws for part time use, but they wont hold up to a couple of years of full time work.