iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timber sizes for king post pole barn

Started by JMoirGA, December 18, 2017, 12:27:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JMoirGA

I'm new to the world of timber framing and looking for a bit of advice. I'm new to the world of online forums as well so bear with me. My project is a pole barn that I'll likely close in later. The barn is for lumber storage. I'd like to be able to drive my tractor into the barn with a load of 20' or shorter lumber on the forks. I'm thinking my basic footprint will be 25x40. I'm planning on spanning the 25' with king post trusses. The problem is that my mill is only 21' long. I have an Alaskan that I can use to cut longer but my woodmizer lt40 has gotten me spoiled. Most of the logs I get are usually 20' or less anyhow. My idea was to split the tie beams and extend the king posts down and join them on the king posts. Adding in some steel hardware at this connection seems like a good idea since this joint will be in tension. I'd like everything in the roof to be at 12' or slightly higher so there will be no chance of me hitting anything with my tractor. The back plate on my forks is 11'8" at full extension. I'm thinking 10x10 posts spaced 10' apart down the long sides. I'd like to use girders between the posts instead of trying to make long plates. I want to set the trusses directly on the posts. I'm going to raise the bottom of the posts on some block piers 16x16" and 16 or 24" high. The roof will be a 6/12 pitch. I haven't been able to calculate the size of all the timbers for the trusses. I'm also wondering if the split tie beam is a good idea or should I quit being lazy and cut some 25' long tie beams. I'm sure I'm leaving out a bunch of details. Any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I'm in southeastern Georgia so there's no snow load but there is the occasional hurricane. All my timbers will be Syp. It'll be a mix of long needle, loblolly, and slash pine. There's hardwood