iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Doyle scale over run

Started by Fern Wood, January 25, 2020, 02:37:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fern Wood

Since I am new to milling I have been checking my footage from log to lumber. Sawed a 19" straight log with little taper and ended up with 27% over run. I was surprised it would be that much unless I made a mistake . Does that amount of over run sound right with the Doyle scale? Sawed with bandmill.

donbj

The Doyle scale has slabs and 5/16 saw kerf built in to it. that's where you gain with the bandmill
I may be skinny but I'm a Husky guy

Woodmizer LT40HDG24. John Deere 5300 4WD with Loader/Forks. Husky 262xp. Jonsered 2065, Husky 65, Husky 44, Husky 181XP, Husky 2100CD, Husky 185CD

Fern Wood

Converted the Doyle footage to international 1/4 scale and my lumber footage would have been 3 board feet under log footage. Tried to google an international 1/8 scale but couldn't find anything 

clearcut

The Rule of Thumb formula for 1/8" kerf International Board Foot Volume is:

Board Feet = (0.66*D^2  - 2.12*D) *(Length/12)

where D = diameter inches at same end, length is in feet.

The longer version of this formula, and source for this is "A Collection of Log Rules", F Freese:

https://www.fpl.fs.fed.us/documnts/fplgtr/fplgtr01.pdf

Carbon sequestered upon request.

donbj

I'm a licensed log scaler in BC since the mid 90's. We use the metric scale here and measure and account for all firmwood in the log, including taper. It seems like a fairer system to me than doyle. Then it's up to the sawyer to utilize it how he wants.

Woodmizer LT40HDG24. John Deere 5300 4WD with Loader/Forks. Husky 262xp. Jonsered 2065, Husky 65, Husky 44, Husky 181XP, Husky 2100CD, Husky 185CD

Fern Wood

I would think if your using international you better have some strict deductions for sweep and what not whereas Doyle is built in . For a beginner anyhow.

donbj

Quote from: Fern Wood on January 25, 2020, 04:10:43 PM